Ford Battery Group Size Chart: Trucks and SUVs 2004 to 2026
This Ford battery group size chart covers the trucks and SUVs owners ask about most. Most of them use Group 65, H6 (Group 48) or H7 (Group 94R).
Super Duty trucks lean on Group 65. Newer Ranger, Bronco, Explorer and Escape models lean on H6 or H7 AGM batteries. Model year alone rarely settles it, because trim, engine and start-stop hardware change the answer.
Prime for Young Adults — 6 Months Free
Students and 18–24s get six months of Prime free, then half price.
Start 6 Months Free As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.We also show where sources disagree, so you know when to read the label on your existing battery before you buy. Below you will find an H code decoder, model tables, upsizing limits and the reset step Ford’s battery monitoring system needs after a swap.
Trucks and SUVs 2004 to 2026. Match your model, then confirm on your battery label.
Case length at a glance
Trucks
F-250 and F-350 Super Duty
2019 to 2022
Flooded, 750 to 850 CCA. Some engines run two batteries.
Ranger
2019 to 2023
Audible — Listen Free for 30 Days
One free credit a month and thousands of titles included.
Listen Free for 30 Days As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.AGM. H7 is 800 CCA, H6 is 760 CCA.
Maverick
2022 and newer
AGM 760 CCA. Some builds list a flooded 99R.
F-150
2004 to 2026
65 or 59, then H7, H6 and H8. Sources split after 2020.
SUVs and vans
Bronco
2021 to 2026
Audible Premium Plus — Annual Membership
12 audiobook credits up front, plus the full Audible catalogue.
See Annual Plans As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.AGM, about 800 CCA.
Bronco Sport
2021 to 2026
AGM or EFB depending on build.
Explorer
2020 to 2026
AGM 760 CCA. Police Interceptor uses H8. 2011 to 2019 sources split.
Expedition
2000 to 2020
No reliable source found for 2021 and newer.
Escape
2020 to 2026
AGM 760 CCA. 2013 to 2019 uses 96R or H6.
Transit
2016 to 2021
Often two batteries. AGM 760 or 610 CCA.
Before you buy
How To Match H6 H7 and H8 to BCI Group Numbers
Recommended Best Deal Products
H6 is Group 48, H7 is Group 94R and H8 is Group 49. The H codes are the European names for the same case sizes, and Ford parts listings use both.
The Battery Council International (BCI) classifies group sizes by maximum dimensions, terminal arrangement and chemistry. Batteries in one group must match in physical size within about 2 mm, so any brand in your group will fit your tray.
| Code | BCI group | Approx. length | Typical Ford use |
|---|---|---|---|
| H6 | 48 | 11 in | Escape, Explorer 2020 and newer, Maverick, Ranger, Transit |
| H7 | 94R | 12.4 in | Bronco, Ranger, Expedition 2018 to 2020, some F-150s |
| H8 | 49 | about 14 in | Some F-150 diesels, Explorer Police Interceptor |
| 65 | 65 | about 12 in | Super Duty, older F-150 and Expedition |
The Motorcraft H7 spec sheet lists a 315 mm case, which is about 12.4 inches. Transit owners on one forum report that H6, H7 and H8 share width and height. H7 runs about 1.4 inches longer than H6, and H8 about 3 inches longer.
The R in 94R marks a reversed terminal layout. Swapping an R battery for a non-R version often leaves the cables too short to reach.
With the codes decoded, here is what each Ford truck takes.
Which Battery Group Size Fits Each Ford Truck 2004 to 2026
Super Duty trucks are the clearest case. Everything else splits by generation.
| Truck | Years | Group size | Type and CCA | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| F-250 and F-350 Super Duty | 2019 to 2022 | 65 | Flooded, 750 to 850 CCA | Motorcraft listings, owner reports |
| Ranger | 2019 to 2023 | H7 (94R) or H6 (48) | AGM, 800 or 760 CCA | Retailer fitment |
| Ranger | 1997 to 2011 | 59 | Not stated | Retailer guidance |
| Maverick | 2022 and newer | H6 (48) or 99R | AGM 760 CCA or flooded 470 CCA | Retailer fitment |
| F-150 | 2004 to 2026 | 65 or 59, then H7, H6 and H8 | Varies by year | Sources split, see below |
Super Duty Battery Sizes
Ford lists the Motorcraft BXT65750 as a 750 CCA Group 65 battery. Owners on a PowerStroke forum thread about replacing a pair also settled on Group 65.
Some Super Duty engines run two batteries, so confirm the count under your hood before you order. Diesel owners comparing options can start with our picks for the best battery for the Ford F250 6.7 diesel.
We could not confirm a group size for 2023 and newer Super Duty trucks from a Ford source. Check the label on your current battery.
Ranger Battery Sizes
The 2019 and newer Ranger calls for an H7 or H6 AGM battery. Motorcraft catalog fitment listed by a parts retailer shows an H7 800 CCA battery for the 2.3L, plus an H6 760 CCA option on XL and XLT trims.
Older Rangers from 1997 to 2011 typically take Group 59, while 1990 to 1996 trucks typically use Group 65.
Maverick Battery Sizes
An O’Reilly fitment page for the 2023 Maverick lists a Motorcraft H6 AGM at 760 CCA. It also lists the Motorcraft BXT99RT4A, a flooded 99R at 470 CCA.
A Bronco Sport forum poster says Ford moved the Maverick to AGM in late 2022. We could not confirm that build date with Ford, so match the type printed on your battery.
F-150 Battery Sizes
Sources for the F-150 change by generation. One data set shows Group 65 for 2011 to 2014, H7 for 2015 and H6 for 2016 to 2020. Another lists H8 for the 2019 diesel.
Sources split again for 2021 and newer trucks, which we cover in the disagreement section below. SUVs follow the same H code logic but change more between years.
Which Battery Group Size Fits Each Ford SUV 2004 to 2026
Recommended Best Deal Products
Bronco and Explorer owners get the cleanest answers. Escape and Expedition owners get the most conflicts.
| SUV | Years | Group size | Type and CCA | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bronco | 2021 to 2026 | H7 (94R) | AGM, 800 CCA | Retailer fitment, owner report |
| Bronco Sport | 2021 to 2026 | H6 (48) | AGM or EFB | Battery maker |
| Explorer | 2020 to 2026 | H6 (48) | AGM, 760 CCA | Retailer fitment, owner report |
| Explorer | 2011 to 2019 | 65, 96R or H6 | Varies | Sources split |
| Expedition | 2000 to 2017 | 65 | Flooded, 650 to 750 CCA | Retailer fitment |
| Expedition | 2018 to 2020 | H7 (94R) | Not stated | Data site |
| Escape | 2013 to 2019 | 96R or H6 | Flooded 590 CCA or AGM | Retailer guidance |
| Escape | 2020 to 2026 | H6 (48) mostly | AGM, 760 CCA | Retailer guidance |
| Transit | 2016 to 2021 | H6 (48), often two | AGM 760 CCA or 610 CCA | Retailer fitment, owner report |
Bronco and Bronco Sport Sizes
Bronco owners on the Bronco6G forum describe the factory battery as an 800 CCA AGM in Group 94R (H7). Motorcraft fitment for the 2021 Bronco lists an H7 as original equipment and an H6 as an option.
Optima says all Bronco Sport models use an H6. A forum poster reports Ford dropped the EFB from Bronco Sport production during the 2024 model year in favor of AGM.
Explorer and Explorer ST Sizes
A parts listing shows the Motorcraft BAGM-48H6-760 fitting the 2020 Explorer. That is an H6 AGM at 760 CCA and 120 minutes of reserve capacity.
Explorer ST owners say H6 is the recommended size. One owner adds that the Police Interceptor comes with an H8.
Expedition Sizes
Data for the 2018 to 2020 Expedition shows H7, while 2016 and 2017 show Group 65. Early Expeditions from 2000 also list Group 65 at 650 to 750 CCA.
We did not find a reliable source for 2021 and newer Expeditions. Confirm against your current battery.
Escape Sizes
AutoZone says 2013 to 2019 Escapes use a flooded 96R near 590 CCA or an H6 AGM. The 2020 and newer Escape most often takes an H6 AGM, though some builds use 94R, 47 or 65.
Transit Sizes
A 2016 Transit 250 owner reports dual H6 70Ah AGM batteries. Motorcraft fitment for a 2021 Transit-150 lists a 760 CCA H6 AGM or two 610 CCA H6 units. The 610 CCA unit carries a warning that its warranty is void in start-stop vehicles.
Not every source agrees on the numbers above, so the next section shows where they split.
Where 5 Sources Disagree on Ford Battery Sizes
We show these conflicts instead of picking a winner. When two sources disagree, your battery label and tray are the tiebreaker.
| Model | One source says | Another says | How to settle it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Super Duty 6.7L diesel | Group 65 per PowerStroke owners and Ford’s Motorcraft listing | Group 31 | Read the label. Group 65 has more support. |
| Explorer 2011 to 2019 | Group 65 for a 2019 base 3.5L, per a Motorcraft fitment listing | 96R per | Match tray and hold-down |
| F-150 2021 and newer | H7 per | H6 AGM | Check label or VIN at a Ford parts counter |
| Escape 2020 and newer | H6 per | Sometimes 94R, 47 or 65 | Read the label |
| F-150 2004 | 59 per | 58, 59 or 65 | Measure the tray |
Reliable answers come from three places. Read the group size printed on the battery in your truck, check the battery page in your owner’s manual, or ask a Ford parts counter to look it up by VIN.
If a longer battery might fit your tray, the next section explains when that works.
Can You Fit an H7 Battery in an H6 Tray
Recommended Best Deal Products
Sometimes, if the tray has the length. Explorer ST owners say an H7 is about 1.5 inches longer than an H6, with the same height and width. One owner calls it snug but workable.
Owners move up for two reasons. One Explorer ST owner says an H7 is the only way to reach 850 CCA, and the extra capacity helps a dash cam that runs in park mode.
A Ranger owner also chose an H7 because the store had no H6 in stock. Ford lists both sizes for that truck.
Skip the swap if the hold-down clamp cannot reach or the cables stretch. Escape owners have reported needing a different hold-down bracket for a Group 48, and we could not verify that part number with Ford.
F-150 EcoBoost owners chasing higher CCA can compare AGM options in our guide to the best batteries for the Ford F-150 EcoBoost.
Size is only half the decision, because the battery type matters just as much.
AGM vs Flooded Batteries on Ford Start Stop Trucks
Start-stop trucks want AGM. AutoZone says the 2019 and newer Ranger needs an H7 or H6 AGM battery, and Motorcraft fitment for that truck notes an AGM is required.
Older Super Duty trucks were built around flooded Group 65 batteries. In start-stop vehicles, Motorcraft warns that its standard 610 CCA H6 voids the warranty.
AGM batteries can also be sensitive after long storage. A Ranger owner reported a battery holding only 2.5 volts after five weeks parked. Keep a maintainer on trucks that sit.
Our breakdown of whether AGM batteries are worth it for trucks covers cost and lifespan.
Once the right battery is in, one last step keeps the truck’s charging strategy honest.
How To Reset the Ford Battery Monitoring System After a Swap
Ford’s battery monitoring system (BMS) needs to know a new battery is in the truck. If you skip it, the BMS keeps using parameters from the old battery and can disable features like auto start-stop or heated seats.
- Set the battery in and confirm the positive terminal sits on the correct side.
- Connect the positive cable first, then the negative.
- Open FORScan, connect to the truck and run Battery Monitoring System Reset under Service Procedures.
- Set the battery type, CCA and Ah from the label where the option exists.
- Drive the truck and watch for warnings or a “charging” message.
The FORScan battery list may not include your exact brand. One F150Forum owner was told to pick the closest match, an AGM H6 at 760 CCA.
A manual reset is documented for some 2010 to 2017 F-150, Super Duty, Edge and Explorer models. It does not work on most 2018 and newer trucks, per the same Tow Ratings guide.
You should see the battery age counter read near zero and start-stop return over the next drive. If a fresh battery still drains, check the charging system with our Ford alternator compatibility chart.
3 Checks Before You Buy a Ford Battery
Use this Ford battery group size chart as a starting point, then run three checks. Read the group size on the battery already in your truck. Confirm whether your truck needs AGM. Plan a BMS reset after the swap.
Where sources disagree, trust the label and the tray over any chart, including ours. Bring the old battery’s group size to the counter and match the terminal side.
Get those three right and the swap goes smoothly.
Frequently Asked Questions About Ford Battery Sizes
Is H6 the same as Group 48 in a Ford?
Yes. H6 is the European name for BCI Group 48. Ford parts listings show both, and the case runs about 11 inches long. Check the terminal layout before ordering.
What battery group size does a Ford F-250 Super Duty use?
Group 65 is the best-supported answer. Ford lists a 750 CCA Motorcraft Group 65 battery. One affiliate guide claims Group 31 for 6.7 diesels, which few sources support. Confirm the label on your truck.
What group size is the Ford Bronco battery?
The full-size Bronco uses an H7 (Group 94R) AGM at about 800 CCA, per owner reports and retailer fitment. The Bronco Sport uses an H6, according to Optima.
Can I use an H7 battery instead of an H6 in my Ford?
Sometimes. An H7 is about 1.4 inches longer than an H6. It fit an Explorer ST with a snug tray, but confirm clamp and cable reach first.








